+30 210 64 66 118
Save 10%

The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook: A History of the Renaissance Mathematics that Birthed Imaginary Number

9781911344407
In stock Dispatched within 1-2 working days.
16.30 
List price: 18.20 
You save: 1.90 € (10%)
+
Add to wish list

This is a landmark in science writing. It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century. Who is he? A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes. This stubborn and unworldly man was the son of a lawyer and a brothel keeper, but also a gifted physician and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of quantum physics. That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style, and in the manner of the modernists embodies in its very form its theories about the world.

The Quantum Astrologer’s Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco. It is a work of and about genius.

Category:
Science
Cover:
Hardback
Edition Number:
1
ISBN:
9781911344407
Pages:
256
Author:
Brooks Michael
Publisher:
SCRIBE PUBLICATIONS
Release Year:
2017

Michael Brooks, who holds a PhD in quantum physics, is an author, journalist, and broadcaster. A consultant at New Scientist, he also writes regularly for New Statesman. Brooks is the author of At The Edge of Uncertainty, The Secret Anarchy of Science, and the bestselling non-fiction title 13 Things That Don’t Make Sense. His writing has appeared in The Guardian, The Independent, The Observer, THE, The Philadelphia Inquirer, and many magazines. He has lectured at, amongst others, NYU, the American Museum of Natural History, and the University of Cambridge.

Save 10%
Add to wish list
Save 10%
Add to wish list
Save 10%
Add to wish list
Save 10%
Add to wish list
Save 10%
Add to wish list